Separator design

A subforum specific to the development of the OpenFoam-based workbenches ( Cfd https://github.com/qingfengxia/Cfd and CfdOF https://github.com/jaheyns/CfdOF )

Moderator: oliveroxtoby

MarkB33

Separator design

Post by MarkB33 »

Hello

I am a new Freecad/CfdOF user.

First of all, thanks for all of the effort you and your co-workers have put into the FreeCad/CfdOF software. It is unbelievable to me that this resource is available at no cost. I have been looking for something like this for a while.

I work in the oil and gas industry and have done a lot of work on separation equipment, ie. gas-liquid and 3-phase (gas-oil-water). There are some aspects to separator design/performance that I have been unable to quantify due to lack of access to CFD software. Now I have it thanks to FreeCad/CfdOF. I was hoping there would be a “sub-forum” dedicated to CFD for separator design but I haven’t found this if there is. Actually, surprisingly little on separators at all.

Below (attached) is a sketch of my gas-liquid separator.

At this point I am not trying to model both the gas and liquid phases (maybe try this down the road), just trying to visualize the gas flow thru the separator. A key issue in separator design is velocity distribution thru the equipment. In a vessel like this, gas-liquid separation performance is highly dependent on gas velocity at various locations from the inlet feed pipe thru to the outlet.

So far, I have had the most luck putting this together using “primitives” I guess you call them, from the Part workbench. Lot’s of trial and error, watching Youtube videos, tutorials, etc. I had originally started with the Part Design WB after watching Pawel Lojek’s heat exchanger tutorial. I struggled with this for quite a while. The Part WB has worked better for me.