xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1104
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Post by Chris_G » Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:00 pm

nemesis wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 2:49 pm
How did you enable Wayland with KDE?
I don't find clear informations on wayland / X11 ... I'm on Debian 9.4
On Ubuntu, I had to install plasma-workspace-wayland, and then I get a dropdown menu at the bottom of the login screen to choose the type of session.
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Post by NormandC » Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:19 am

Out of curiosity, do you all have AMD (ATI) graphics? Is it recent hardware?
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1104
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Post by Chris_G » Fri Jul 13, 2018 8:05 am

I use an AMD RX580, with the open-source AMDGPU driver.
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Post by nemesis » Sat Aug 04, 2018 2:47 pm

NormandC wrote:
Fri Jul 13, 2018 3:19 am
Out of curiosity, do you all have AMD (ATI) graphics? Is it recent hardware?
lspci :

Code: Select all

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Broadway PRO [Mobility Radeon HD 5850]
that's a 2010 Imac 27"
User avatar
nemesis
Posts: 344
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2014 11:24 pm
Location: France, Lyon

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Post by nemesis » Mon Aug 06, 2018 12:52 pm

Chris_G wrote:
Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:00 pm
On Ubuntu, I had to install plasma-workspace-wayland, and then I get a dropdown menu at the bottom of the login screen to choose the type of session.
Damned, Wayland is just a mess on my Debian, it's logging out without visible explanation...
I'm will stay with the "LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=true" tip for the moment.

anyway thanks for the hint!
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1104
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Post by Chris_G » Mon Aug 06, 2018 1:05 pm

nemesis wrote:
Mon Aug 06, 2018 12:52 pm
Damned, Wayland is just a mess on my Debian, it's logging out without visible explanation...
I'm will stay with the "LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=true" tip for the moment.

anyway thanks for the hint!
It's a bit buggy on Kubuntu also, so I use the "LIBGL_DRI3_DISABLE=true" too ...
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5482
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: xcb problem when starting new build of freecad

Post by Kunda1 » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:36 am

issue #3717
Are there any updates for this bug or is there just a workaround ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests