[Solved]Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
davecoventry
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: Johannesburg
Contact:

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by davecoventry »

Screenshot from 2020-06-19 14-34-10.png
Screenshot from 2020-06-19 14-34-10.png (263.07 KiB) Viewed 3423 times
FreeCAD.log
(20.14 KiB) Downloaded 71 times
~ Dave
User avatar
davecoventry
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: Johannesburg
Contact:

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by davecoventry »

triplus wrote: Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:04 pm In addition i did a few quick tests (installed PyQt5 with PIP), and my self compiled FreeCAD, FreeCAD daily from PPA (Ubuntu 16.04) and the daily AppImage work just fine.

Therefore i guess we need to better understand, on why "FreeCAD Ext modules support" has issues with such packages on some systems and not on others.
I have tried installing Qt from sources, but this has given me Qt6 which also seems incompatible.
This likely has borked a few things too. Bottom line, you don't need to install any of this, FreeCAD from repository or PPA will take care of the dependencies. Or download the AppImage, make it executable and run it after:

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre

All dependencies are included.
Error message before installing PyQt5 with pip:
cannot import name 'QtCore' from 'PyQt5' (unknown location)

Code: Select all

dave@Tufness:~$ python -m pip install PyQt5
Collecting PyQt5
  Using cached PyQt5-5.15.0-5.15.0-cp35.cp36.cp37.cp38-abi3-manylinux2014_x86_64.whl (76.6 MB)
Requirement already satisfied: PyQt5-sip<13,>=12.8 in ./.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages (from PyQt5) (12.8.0)
Installing collected packages: PyQt5
Successfully installed PyQt5-5.15.0
Says that PyQt5 is version 5.15.0
Error message changes to:
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQt5Core.so.5: version `Qt_5.15' not found (required by /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5/QtCore.abi3.so)
So, on the one hand, it says it can find Qt5, but not the right version, but the version is the correct one.

Uninstall PyQt5 using pip.

Code: Select all

dave@Tufness:~$ python -m pip uninstall PyQt5
Found existing installation: PyQt5 5.15.0
Uninstalling PyQt5-5.15.0:
  Would remove:
    /home/dave/.local/bin/pylupdate5
    /home/dave/.local/bin/pyrcc5
    /home/dave/.local/bin/pyuic5
    /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5-5.15.0.dist-info/*
    /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5/*
  Would not remove (might be manually added):
    /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5/sip.cpython-38-x86_64-linux-gnu.so
Proceed (y/n)? y
  Successfully uninstalled PyQt5-5.15.0
Error message reverts to the "unknown loctation".

Freecad
~ Dave
openBrain
Veteran
Posts: 9034
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by openBrain »

The strange thing is that QtCore should be provided by PySide2, and not PyQt5, in the case of FreeCAD...
triplus
Veteran
Posts: 9471
Joined: Mon Dec 12, 2011 4:45 pm

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by triplus »

Hi Dave.

Based on all the info you provided i think we are narrowing it down. What is happening is the FreeCAD package you use has the resources compiled with PyQt5. That is where PyQt5 dependency is coming from. This hence likely is a packaging related issue. Is the FreeCAD package installed from the PPA? If yes, then best to notify PPA maintainers.

P.S. Until this gets addressed, installing PyQt5 likely won't help, best to use AppImage.
User avatar
davecoventry
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: Johannesburg
Contact:

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by davecoventry »

Ok, thanks, that seems likely.

I might try to compile from sources.
~ Dave
User avatar
sgrogan
Veteran
Posts: 6499
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by sgrogan »

davecoventry wrote: Fri Jun 19, 2020 3:46 pm I might try to compile from sources.
See this post: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 60#p396652
You seem to have the same QT/Pyside2 packaging problem
"fight the good fight"
User avatar
davecoventry
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: Johannesburg
Contact:

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by davecoventry »

Well, that's fubared.

I uninstalled FreeCAD and downloaded and compiled v0.19-pre.

Fired up FreeCAD-0.19 and have the same error.
/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQt5Core.so.5: version `Qt_5.15' not found (required by /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5/QtCore.abi3.so)
I deleted (or, rather, moved) my ~/.FreeCAD hidden directory and the message has changed slightly.
dave@Tufness:/opt/FreeCAD-0.19_pre/freecad-build$ bin/FreeCAD
FreeCAD 0.19, Libs: 0.19RUnknown
© Juergen Riegel, Werner Mayer, Yorik van Havre 2001-2019
##### #### ### ####
# # # # # #
# ## #### #### # # # # #
#### # # # # # # # ##### # #
# # #### #### # # # # #
# # # # # # # # # ## ## ##
# # #### #### ### # # #### ## ## ##

During initialization the error "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQt5Core.so.5: version `Qt_5.15' not found (required by /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5/QtCore.abi3.so)" occurred in /opt/FreeCAD-0.19_pre/freecad-build/Mod/Draft/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information
During initialization the error "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQt5Core.so.5: version `Qt_5.15' not found (required by /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5/QtCore.abi3.so)" occurred in /opt/FreeCAD-0.19_pre/freecad-build/Mod/Arch/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information
During initialization the error "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQt5Core.so.5: version `Qt_5.15' not found (required by /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5/QtCore.abi3.so)" occurred in /opt/FreeCAD-0.19_pre/freecad-build/Mod/Tux/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information
During initialization the error "/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQt5Core.so.5: version `Qt_5.15' not found (required by /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5/QtCore.abi3.so)" occurred in /opt/FreeCAD-0.19_pre/freecad-build/Mod/AddonManager/InitGui.py
Please look into the log file for further information
Unknown command 'Std_AddonMgr'
connect failed: No such file or directory
~ Dave
User avatar
davecoventry
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: Johannesburg
Contact:

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by davecoventry »

Ok, got it.

I've removed the ~/.local/lib/python3.8 directory and it now seems to start ok.

I still seem to have python3.8, though, so it must be install in multiple locations.

I have to say that the different iterations and siblings of python is a complete clusterf*.

I'll put it through a number of tests before I mark thread as solved.
~ Dave
User avatar
davecoventry
Posts: 286
Joined: Mon Dec 09, 2013 8:11 pm
Location: Johannesburg
Contact:

Re: [Solved]Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by davecoventry »

Marked as solved.

Thank you, guys. You are a credit to the OS community.
~ Dave
User avatar
Anool
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:28 am
Location: Mumbai India
Contact:

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Post by Anool »

davecoventry wrote: Sat Jun 20, 2020 4:00 pm I've removed the ~/.local/lib/python3.8 directory and it now seems to start ok.
Well, doing this solved my start up errors too.
I'm on Ubuntu 20.04 fresh install on a formatted disk.
Was having trouble with FC v0.18 installed via Ubuntu software centre, as well as FC v0.18 and FC v0.19 AppImages too.
Post Reply