Page 1 of 2

[Solved]Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:27 am
by davecoventry
I recently reinstalled my OS (an issue with Virtualbox-don't ask :( ) and, on reinstalling FreeCAD, it fails to run correctly.

Code: Select all

/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQt5Core.so.5: version `Qt_5.15' not found (required by /home/dave/.local/lib/python3.8/site-packages/PyQt5/QtCore.abi3.so)

Code: Select all

dave@Tuffy:~$ ls -l /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQt5Core.so.5
lrwxrwxrwx 1 root root 20 Jun 17 22:33 /lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libQt5Core.so.5 -> libQt5Core.so.5.12.8
I have tried installing Qt from sources, but this has given me Qt6 which also seems incompatible.

OS: Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.4.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/South Africa (en_ZA)

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 11:06 am
by Kunda1
davecoventry wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 6:27 am
I recently reinstalled my OS (an issue with Virtualbox-don't ask :( ) and, on reinstalling FreeCAD, it fails to run correctly.

OS: Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.4.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/South Africa (en_ZA)
How are you installing FC ? BTW, Can you reproduce on 0.19 ?

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:31 pm
by davecoventry
I'm just using the Debian package as installed from the Ubuntu 20.4 repos.

BTW, following the instructions on the Wiki on adding the PPA gives an error:

Code: Select all

The repository 'http://ppa.launchpad.net/freecad-maintainers/freecad-stable/ubuntu focal Release' does not have a Release file
To install FreeCAD using the personal package archive (PPA) maintained by the FreeCAD project, please follow these instructions. The repository is called freecad-stable on Launchpad.

Navigate to Ubuntu Software → Software & Updates → Software Sources → Other Software
Click on And, then copy and paste the following line

ppa:freecad-maintainers/freecad-stable
I haven't tried to install the 0.19 candidate, but I would imagine that it also requires Qt5.15 (or possibly later).

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:41 pm
by openBrain
Which additional modules did you install ?
AFAIK, FreeCAD doesn't use PyQt at all anymore.

Do you know why PyQt is installed (which software requires it) ?

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 2:47 pm
by triplus

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:56 pm
by davecoventry
openBrain wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 1:41 pm
Which additional modules did you install ?
AFAIK, FreeCAD doesn't use PyQt at all anymore.

Do you know why PyQt is installed (which software requires it) ?
I'm not sure, but the Draft Workbench, for one, is out of commission.
Screenshot from 2020-06-18 22-51-35.png
Screenshot from 2020-06-18 22-51-35.png (302.2 KiB) Viewed 1455 times
@triplus: thanks, I'll have a look at that. I don't have pip installed, though. I'll install it and see if installing PyQt5 though pip works.

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 9:04 pm
by sgrogan
davecoventry wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:56 pm
@triplus: thanks, I'll have a look at that. I don't have pip installed, though. I'll install it and see if installing PyQt5 though pip works.
No. @triplus is worried you have an pip installed package that is messing your system.
If you don't have one, don't make it worse.

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:00 pm
by triplus
davecoventry wrote:
Thu Jun 18, 2020 8:56 pm
@triplus: thanks, I'll have a look at that. I don't have pip installed, though. I'll install it and see if installing PyQt5 though pip works.
The thing is PyQt5 is already installed and the clash is occurring. Maybe it got installed with some other software, but i have a feeling, that at some point you ran a command, such as:

Code: Select all

pip install --user PyQt5
pip3 install --user PyQt5
Hence now try running:

Code: Select all

pip uninstall PyQt5
pip3 uninstall PyQt5
And after try running FreeCAD again.

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 10:04 pm
by triplus
In addition i did a few quick tests (installed PyQt5 with PIP), and my self compiled FreeCAD, FreeCAD daily from PPA (Ubuntu 16.04) and the daily AppImage work just fine.

Therefore i guess we need to better understand, on why "FreeCAD Ext modules support" has issues with such packages on some systems and not on others.
I have tried installing Qt from sources, but this has given me Qt6 which also seems incompatible.
This likely has borked a few things too. Bottom line, you don't need to install any of this, FreeCAD from repository or PPA will take care of the dependencies. Or download the AppImage, make it executable and run it after:

https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/rele ... g/0.19_pre

All dependencies are included.

Re: Freecad looking for Qt_5.15 but Qt_5.12 is installed

Posted: Fri Jun 19, 2020 12:36 pm
by davecoventry
Ok.

Scrubbed my hard drive and installed the operating system again.

Updated and upgraded base system and installed FreeCAD from scratch.

Exactly the same result.

The Appimages work, but are very flakey and prone to segfault. Furthermore, if I import a model altered by the Appimage, there are a number of residual elements.