3Dconnexion mouse

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
User avatar
Anool
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:28 am
Location: Mumbai India
Contact:

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by Anool » Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:00 am

Some feedback on my 3Dconnexion SpaceMouse Wireless install experience.

I use Ubuntu OS, and got my 3Dx mouse many years back. It worked initially, but after a few updates/upgrades, it stopped working - and I put it in storage. Tried it again last month after upgrading to Ubuntu 20.04 LTS and it still wouldn't work. Finally, I've done a disk drive format and clean, fresh install of Ubuntu 20.04 LTS and the results are :

FC ver 0.18 installed via Ubuntu software centre - Space Mouse does not work

Under TOOLS > CUSTOMISE > SPACEBALL, it shows "No Spaceball present"

OS: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.4.
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.8
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/India (en_IN)


FC ver 0.18 AppImage - Space Mouse does not work

Under TOOLS > CUSTOMISE > SPACEBALL, it shows "No Spaceball present"

FreeCAD_0.18-16146-Linux-Conda_Py3Qt5_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
OS: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.16146 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: (HEAD detached at 0.18.4)
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 3.6.7
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/India (en_IN)


FC ver 0.19 AppImage - Space Mouse works

Under TOOLS > CUSTOMISE > SPACEBALL, I'm able to adjust Spaceball settings"

FreeCAD_0.19-22366-Linux-Conda_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage
OS: Ubuntu 20.04.1 LTS (ubuntu:GNOME/ubuntu)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.22366 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 34c11fcc63efa2fc72cbc74c75c76e9f19d5c84c
Python version: 3.8.5
Qt version: 5.12.9
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/India (en_IN)

Since I'm increasingly using ver 0.19, I don't really mind, but if there is any way to get it working on 0.18 versions, I'd be happy.

Any suggestions ?
jmaustpc
Posts: 10195
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 6:28 am
Location: Australia

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by jmaustpc » Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:49 am

Welcome to FreeCAD. :)

Anool wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:00 am
Since I'm increasingly using ver 0.19, I don't really mind, but if there is any way to get it working on 0.18 versions, I'd be happy.
I don't have a spacemouse so I don't know a much about it, however I just thought I would say that I only use 0.19 now anyway since it's got so many bug fixes and improvements over 0.18.
User avatar
Anool
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:28 am
Location: Mumbai India
Contact:

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by Anool » Thu Sep 17, 2020 9:04 am

jmaustpc wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:49 am
Welcome to FreeCAD. :)
:) Been using it since ver 0.14 , but I still often feel like a noob, so Thanks !!!

Anool wrote:
Thu Sep 17, 2020 8:00 am
I don't have a spacemouse so I don't know a much about it, however I just thought I would say that I only use 0.19 now anyway since it's got so many bug fixes and improvements over 0.18.
Yeah, makes a lot of sense. And I'm pretty stoked it works. Missed mentioning that I used the awesome open source "spacenavd" drivers, and not the 3DX Linux drivers.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16446
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by wmayer » Thu Sep 17, 2020 2:39 pm

Any suggestions ?
Start FreeCAD with the option --write-log and close it immediately. Then check the content of $HOME/.FreeCAD/FreeCAD.log. There should appear an entry how the space mouse was handled at startup.
User avatar
Anool
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:28 am
Location: Mumbai India
Contact:

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by Anool » Thu Sep 17, 2020 3:03 pm

Interesting. In the log file, it seems to not be able to connect to the spacenav daemon.

Code: Select all

Log: Main window restored
Log: Show main window
Log: Toolbars restored
Log: Couldn't connect to spacenav daemon
Log: Init: Entering event loop
Log: Init: Processing command line files
Log: Hide main window
Log: Hide main window
Log: Finish: Event loop left
Log: Destruct Gui::Application
Log: Couldn't disconnect from spacenav daemon
I can post the whole log file here if that is required/helps.
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 16446
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by wmayer » Thu Sep 17, 2020 4:44 pm

The spacenav API supports two ways how to interact with it.
The historical way was based on the X11 protocol and the API function is called spnav_x11_open(). On modern systems where no X11 is available any more this connection method will fail. This is the way FreeCAD v0.18 works: https://github.com/FreeCAD/FreeCAD/blob ... e.cpp#L107

The second way is the polling API where it's up to the application to regularly poll to get the events. The method therefore is called spnav_open. This should work on all systems and doesn't depend on the display server.

FreeCAD v0.19 supports both methods but by default it uses the polling API. (With a CMake swtich SPNAV_USE_X11 you can force the old behaviour.)

To answer your previous question: we won't modify version v0.18 to support the polling API as there was a major refactorization of the source code that will be quite difficult to port back to v0.18.
User avatar
Anool
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:28 am
Location: Mumbai India
Contact:

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by Anool » Thu Sep 17, 2020 5:29 pm

Thanks for clarifying that, wmayer.

For me, it is okay that it is working with ver 0.19 since that's the version I use the most.
User avatar
Pauvres_honteux
Posts: 353
Joined: Sun Feb 16, 2014 12:05 am
Location: Far side of the moon

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by Pauvres_honteux » Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:13 pm

OS: openSUSE Leap 15.1 (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/default)
Display server protocol: Wayland
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.Unknown
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.5
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0

Hi, an odd thing appears for me on my system:
mi SpacePilot seams to work as a mouse! It moves the pointer, but that's it.
.
Running the command "spacenavd -d" as superuser gives: "Spacenav daemon already running (pid: 19199). Aborting."
Running the command "FreeCAD --write-log" as regular user creates a log-file, here a snippet of it:

Code: Select all

Log: Init: Loading FreeCAD GUI
Log: Init: Running FreeCADGuiInit.py start script... done
Log: Init: Activating default workbench StartWorkbench
Log: Loading Sketcher module... done
Log: Loading PartDesign module... done
Msg: Wizard shaft module cannot be loadedMsg: 
Log: Loading GUI of Part module... done
Log: Loading GUI of Sketcher module... done
Log: Loading GUI of PartDesign module... done
Log: Init: Showing main window
Log: Main window restored
Log: Show main window
Log: Toolbars restored
Log: Connected to spacenav daemon
Log: Init: Entering event loop
Log: Init: Processing command line files
Log: Hide main window
Log: Finish: Event loop left
Log: Destruct Gui::Application
Log: Disconnected from spacenav daemon
Log: FreeCAD terminating...
Log: Saving system parameter...
Log: Saving system parameter...done
.
When entering "Tools / Customize / Spaceball Motion or Spaceball Buttons" both tabs are populated with all sorts of colorful buttons.
On the physical spacemouse the blue light under the "knob" is off. Perhaps it gives some information?
Note; mi system uses Wayland DSP.
Dougl
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Oct 01, 2020 6:08 pm

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by Dougl » Thu Oct 01, 2020 6:19 pm

Pauvres_honteux wrote:
Tue Sep 22, 2020 1:13 pm
OS: openSUSE Leap 15.1 (KDE//usr/share/xsessions/default)
Display server protocol: Wayland
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.Unknown
Build type: Release
Python version: 3.6.5
Qt version: 5.9.7
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0

Hi, an odd thing appears for me on my system:
mi SpacePilot seams to work as a mouse! It moves the pointer, but that's it.
.
Running the command "spacenavd -d" as superuser gives: "Spacenav daemon already running (pid: 19199). Aborting."
Running the command "FreeCAD --write-log" as regular user creates a log-file, here a snippet of it:

Code: Select all

Log: Init: Loading FreeCAD GUI
Log: Init: Running FreeCADGuiInit.py start script... done
Log: Init: Activating default workbench StartWorkbench
Log: Loading Sketcher module... done
Log: Loading PartDesign module... done
Msg: Wizard shaft module cannot be loadedMsg: 
Log: Loading GUI of Part module... done
Log: Loading GUI of Sketcher module... done
Log: Loading GUI of PartDesign module... done
Log: Init: Showing main window
Log: Main window restored
Log: Show main window
Log: Toolbars restored
Log: Connected to spacenav daemon
Log: Init: Entering event loop
Log: Init: Processing command line files
Log: Hide main window
Log: Finish: Event loop left
Log: Destruct Gui::Application
Log: Disconnected from spacenav daemon
Log: FreeCAD terminating...
Log: Saving system parameter...
Log: Saving system parameter...done
.
When entering "Tools / Customize / Spaceball Motion or Spaceball Buttons" both tabs are populated with all sorts of colorful buttons.
On the physical spacemouse the blue light under the "knob" is off. Perhaps it gives some information?
Note; mi system uses Wayland DSP.
If your 3D Connexion device does now show active LED lights then the driver did not load. You'll want to try loading the driver in the foreground to see what the problem is.
Doug
FreeCAD for Linux
RainmanNoodles
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2020 11:43 pm

Re: 3Dconnexion mouse

Post by RainmanNoodles » Sun Oct 11, 2020 6:35 pm

I'm having an issue with buttons on my 3Dconnexion mouse triggering dramatic zoom and rotation in the viewer.
Link to forum post: https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=51005

I've attached actions to the buttons in "Tools-Customize-Spaceball Buttons" and the actions are triggered, but the wild movement is also triggered at the same time. Running 0.19 also has the exact same issue. This even applies to the "menu" button which normally only brings up the 3Dconnexion settings app.

About info:

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.4 (GitTag)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 3.6.6
Qt version: 5.6.2
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests