new Measurement tool

Info about new community or project announcements, implemented features, classes, modules or APIs. Might get technical!
PLEASE DO NOT POST HELP REQUESTS OR OTHER DISCUSSIONS HERE!
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

new Measurement tool

Post by Zolko » Fri Jun 19, 2020 11:48 pm

Hello,

I'm pleased to announce that a new version of Assembly 4 has been released, v0.9.5, with a new measurement tool, completely rewritten from the Caliper of the Manipulator WB. This tool can now measure almost everything that you throw at it. Works with assemblies and App::Link of course.

I'd be happy if people could test it and report all problems.

Measure.png
Measure.png (320.73 KiB) Viewed 1958 times
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
carlopav
Posts: 1568
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: new Measurement tool

Post by carlopav » Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:13 am

Well done, it really looks promising!
Mind the tooltip in the toolbar, I think it is outdated.
on my screen the labels look quite big (cause the screen is small), not a big problem to me, but would be perhaps fine to tune them with some preferences

Edit: I played with it a bit more, and it's really nice.
I realized the tool creates an App::AnnotationLabel and a Part::Feature for every dimension entity to be displayed. A question out of curiosity to understand how you thought about it: wouldn't it be better to use a tracker that only rely on coin rather than an object that have a Part Shape?
Last edited by carlopav on Sat Jun 20, 2020 10:57 am, edited 3 times in total.
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design
User avatar
-alex-
Posts: 631
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2019 9:42 pm
Location: France

Re: new Measurement tool

Post by -alex- » Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:50 am

Zolko wrote:
Fri Jun 19, 2020 11:48 pm
a new measurement tool, completely rewritten from the Caliper of the Manipulator WB. This tool can now measure almost everything that you throw at it.
Very nice tool, this improvement is very convenient. Works very well as far as I can test it.
Thanks a lot!
HoWil
Posts: 1199
Joined: Sun Jun 14, 2015 7:31 pm
Location: Austria

Re: new Measurement tool

Post by HoWil » Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:55 pm

Two things:
  • If I select "Measure Distance" and select a point than "Button" for "First Element" gets disabled and the one for the "Second Element" gets selected. If I accidentally select a wrong first point, than it is not possible to simply select 'First Element' again or e.g. press Esc. "Reset" clears all my measurements I have done before... thats not an solution.
  • Nice to see that this tool is further improved... but wouldn't it be better to join your efforts with Maurice and improve the caliper instead of getting the thousand and first new measurement tool. I am pretty sure Maurice would support it. From a user standpoint it is hard to cope with which tool is the most improved one...
BR
HoWil
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: new Measurement tool

Post by Zolko » Sat Jun 20, 2020 5:24 pm

HoWil wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:55 pm
  • If I select "Measure Distance" and select a point than "Button" for "First Element" gets disabled and the one for the "Second Element" gets selected. If I accidentally select a wrong first point, than it is not possible to simply select 'First Element' again or e.g. press Esc. "Reset" clears all my measurements I have done before... thats not an solution.
yes, I noticed that too. Needs to be fixed.

HoWil wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:55 pm
  • Nice to see that this tool is further improved... but wouldn't it be better to join your efforts with Maurice and improve the caliper instead of getting the thousand and first new measurement tool. I am pretty sure Maurice would support it
I tried but he didn't want. Then I proposed this for GSoC but it was not chosen. So I did it myself, I need this tool: that's the very principle of open-source, scratching an itch. This should actually be in core FreeCAD, not as an addon-module. But Part's measure tool only measures 2 shapes, you can't measure a circle's diameter, a segment's length, or a distance between snap-points.
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
User avatar
M4x
Posts: 281
Joined: Sat Mar 11, 2017 9:23 am
Location: Germany

Re: new Measurement tool

Post by M4x » Sat Jun 20, 2020 8:48 pm

I've just learned about the caliper tool :mrgreen:

Could you tell us more about the differences?
GeneFC
Posts: 1654
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: new Measurement tool

Post by GeneFC » Sun Jun 21, 2020 1:49 am

It looks quite useful. Thanks!

One small thing I noticed was that the measurement result seems to be attached to an end of the shape. When I enlarged an object to better select the correct points the measurement result was often outside the viewing area instead of where I clicked.

Not really a big deal, but ...

Gene
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: new Measurement tool

Post by Zolko » Mon Jun 22, 2020 3:33 pm

HoWil wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:55 pm
  • If I select "Measure Distance" and select a point than "Button" for "First Element" gets disabled and the one for the "Second Element" gets selected. If I accidentally select a wrong first point, than it is not possible to simply select 'First Element' again or e.g. press Esc.
I've updated the workbench, this is improved now (by unchecking the first selection button). Could you please test and report whether the behaviour is correct now ?
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
User avatar
Zolko
Posts: 1093
Joined: Mon Dec 17, 2018 10:02 am

Re: new Measurement tool

Post by Zolko » Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:12 pm

carlopav wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 9:13 am
I realized the tool creates an App::AnnotationLabel and a Part::Feature for every dimension entity to be displayed. A question out of curiosity to understand how you thought about it: wouldn't it be better to use a tracker that only rely on coin rather than an object that have a Part Shape?
may-be ... probably, but I don't know what a "tracker" is. Actually, I'm quite certain that it could be made much better. If you had some time to look at the code and propose some improvements would be great.
try the Assembly4 workbench for FreCAD v0.19
install with Tools > Addon Manager > Assembly4 — tutorials here and here
carlopav
Posts: 1568
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2018 1:49 pm
Location: Venice, Italy

Re: new Measurement tool

Post by carlopav » Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:34 pm

Zolko wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:12 pm
may-be ... probably, but I don't know what a "tracker" is. Actually, I'm quite certain that it could be made much better. If you had some time to look at the code and propose some improvements would be great.
Sorry, I meant a coin (pivy) object, that does not have a shape but just a visual representation (you do not probably even need a document object). I wrote "trackers" cause Draft provide a smal library for them and they are called like this. Anyway it's nothing really important, since everything is deleted after usage.
I used the tool also today at work and i find it really easy to use.
follow my experiments on BIM modelling for architecture design
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest