Page 2 of 4

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:57 pm
by easyw-fc
Zolko wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 5:24 pm
HoWil wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 3:55 pm
  • Nice to see that this tool is further improved... but wouldn't it be better to join your efforts with Maurice and improve the caliper instead of getting the thousand and first new measurement tool. I am pretty sure Maurice would support it
I tried but he didn't want.
That's really amazing...
everyone can see that is the opposite... you wanted a different Gui interface from the original I use and after arguing in many ways, you decided to leave the discussion... anyway this is your choice but don't throw wrong information around
here the discussion:
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 20#p367915

BTW:
easyw-fc wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:35 pm
Zolko wrote:
Fri Jun 19, 2020 11:39 pm
I'm pleased to announce that a new version of Assembly 4 has been released, v0.9.5, with a new measurement tool, completely rewritten from the Caliper of the Manipulator WB.
I'm glad you've found my code useful for your tool, but would you mind to use a different icon for your measurement tool? Using the same I made for Caliper could be misleading for user's of manipulator WB.
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 57#p410557

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:15 pm
by Zolko
easyw-fc wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:35 pm
I'm glad you've found my code useful for your tool, but would you mind to use a different icon for your measurement tool? Using the same I made for Caliper could be misleading for user's of manipulator WB.
misleading in what sense ? Anyway, I changed for the Part_Measure icon. And gave you credit for the embedded icons.

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 5:45 am
by easyw-fc
Zolko wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 10:15 pm
easyw-fc wrote:
Mon Jun 22, 2020 8:35 pm
I'm glad you've found my code useful for your tool, but would you mind to use a different icon for your measurement tool? Using the same I made for Caliper could be misleading for user's of manipulator WB.
misleading in what sense ? Anyway, I changed for the Part_Measure icon. And gave you credit for the embedded icons.
fine, but please also fix your tool's help which is a 'copy-paste' of my caliper tool:
.
measure-tool-help.png
measure-tool-help.png (48.12 KiB) Viewed 742 times

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Tue Jun 23, 2020 6:34 am
by HoWil
So, I see much glass was already broken...
Is there really no way to bring both efforts back to finally form one tool?
Improvements should not be thrown away because of some icons or a copied description.

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 6:22 am
by bernd
Zolko wrote:
Sat Jun 20, 2020 5:24 pm
... This should actually be in core FreeCAD, not as an addon-module. But Part's measure tool only measures 2 shapes, you can't measure a circle's diameter, a segment's length, or a distance between snap-points.
than you should separate it from your assemply, add it to FreeCAD and go for a PR. It makes no sense to have it tpgether with a assembly wb. I need such tool too, but I do not need assembly.

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 9:30 am
by Zolko
bernd wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 6:22 am
I need such tool too
unfortunately you seem to be the only one (apart from me)

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:29 am
by looo
Why not create a measurement wb and then have a competition on which wb is most useful. We can include the measurement tools by default in the bundles.
We have all the tools to distribute a modular freecad, we should not aim at a gigantic core library.

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 1:55 pm
by Zolko
looo wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 10:29 am
Why not create a measurement wb and then have a competition
Image
https://www.explainxkcd.com/wiki/index. ... _Standards

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:27 pm
by bernd
Still. Would it not make sense to split Measurement and assembley in two WBs, even if it is the 15th FreeCAD measurement tool? But it would be the first Measurement WB.

ATM I use three or four different ones, one from Part, one from Arch, one from Manipulator. Soon I will have a assembly wb which I do not need just becaue I would like to measure something.

Re: new Measurement tool

Posted: Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:51 pm
by fjullien
bernd wrote:
Wed Jun 24, 2020 3:27 pm
ATM I use three or four different ones, one from Part, one from Arch, one from Manipulator. Soon I will have a assembly wb which I do not need just becaue I would like to measure something.
I think opening any workbench to measure something is overkill (even a Measurement WB).
One should be able to measure something everywhere everytime.

Franck.