Overcome an error

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
Path405
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 4:14 pm

Overcome an error

Post by Path405 » Thu Feb 13, 2020 4:39 pm

Hi I attach a small problem this is my starting project to get to grips with FreeCAD for as far as I have reviewed the help page and all the youtube videos also alas to no avail can any one help.

Regards
Patrick
Attachments
Freecad error.docx
(520.45 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
openBrain
Posts: 3045
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: Overcome an error

Post by openBrain » Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:08 pm

Just double-click 'Body001' in the tree so it is made active (displayed bold). ;)
drmacro
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Overcome an error

Post by drmacro » Thu Feb 13, 2020 6:32 pm

Difficult to say for sure without the cad file.

But, my guess is that you have 2 bodies. To cut one from the other you need to pad both then use a boolean operation to remove one from the other.

Also, since the second body, when padded, would break the multiple solid rule it will fail at that point.

So, you could extrude the sketch with holes in Part workbench, then cut the extrude from the first body.
HexExample.png
HexExample.png (33.36 KiB) Viewed 138 times
Confused? :?:

Yeah, the multiple body rule gets us all. ;)
Keep askin, we'll keep answerin. :P
Attachments
HexCutExample.FCStd
(22.45 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
chrisb
Posts: 21261
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Overcome an error

Post by chrisb » Thu Feb 13, 2020 7:10 pm

I rather think you should do this all in one body. Allthough it can be repaired, I recommend to delete the second body, activate the first body (see openBrains comment) and create a sketch for the pockets.
drmacro
Posts: 287
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 4:35 pm

Re: Overcome an error

Post by drmacro » Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:19 pm

chrisb wrote:
Thu Feb 13, 2020 7:10 pm
I rather think you should do this all in one body. Although it can be repaired, I recommend to delete the second body, activate the first body (see openBrains comment) and create a sketch for the pockets.
I absolutely agree that a single body with a pad of the first sketch and pocket of the second would be the best approach.

But, I suspect his file is something like this:
H1.png
H1.png (38.4 KiB) Viewed 119 times
And, with Body001 active attempting to pad Sketch001 in Part Design would result in a multiple solids error. Am I missing something? :?: (which would be nothing new... :oops: )
Attachments
HexCutExample-1.FCStd
(14.09 KiB) Not downloaded yet
chrisb
Posts: 21261
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2015 9:14 am

Re: Overcome an error

Post by chrisb » Thu Feb 13, 2020 10:33 pm

I think you describe exactly the problem of OPs post.
Path405
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Feb 13, 2020 4:14 pm

Re: Overcome an error

Post by Path405 » Sat Feb 15, 2020 1:24 pm

Thank you all for your input will start again to ensure I follow your guidance thank you all Patrick
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: kisolre, tom and 14 guests