Part solids under PD body

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Post Reply
kisolre
Posts: 1637
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Part solids under PD body

Post by kisolre » Thu Mar 26, 2020 7:15 pm

Found a way to put Part solids under PD body. Not sure what to think about that.
To reproduce create a part primitive. Create PD body. create an empty sketch under the body. Drag/drom Part primitive over the sketch - sketch gets kicked out of the body and replaced by the primitive. Here is a screenshot and a file:
.
PartGeometryInsideBody.JPG
PartGeometryInsideBody.JPG (72.85 KiB) Viewed 204 times
PartGeometryInsideBody_DepGraph.JPG
PartGeometryInsideBody_DepGraph.JPG (92.84 KiB) Viewed 204 times
.
OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20221 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: e25cdd2d043f3fbe5f71155a296f322aec6b85b7
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Bulgarian/Bulgaria (bg_BG)
Attachments
PartsInsideBody.FCStd
(69.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet
TheMarkster
Posts: 1187
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:53 am

Re: Part solids under PD body

Post by TheMarkster » Fri Mar 27, 2020 3:43 am

This fascinating. I was able to get a polar Draft Array into a Body with a Pocket feature as the base of the array. The result is multiple solids and no complaints.

OS: Windows 10 (10.0)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.20221 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: e25cdd2d043f3fbe5f71155a296f322aec6b85b7
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
Attachments
Snip macro screenshot-5aeb97.png
Snip macro screenshot-5aeb97.png (137.86 KiB) Viewed 167 times
My FreeCAD video series on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... GEBlLshYGa
ickby
Posts: 2940
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 7:36 am

Re: Part solids under PD body

Post by ickby » Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:09 am

What is the benefit over the usual methods, using the part as base feature or putting it into the part design Boolean? I did not test your method, but could imagine that it does not combine the box to the already existing part design features, hence lead to overlapping. Such things do not happen with the part design Boolean, they were designed for exactly those cases.
kisolre
Posts: 1637
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: Part solids under PD body

Post by kisolre » Fri Mar 27, 2020 10:29 am

ickby wrote:
Fri Mar 27, 2020 8:09 am
What is the benefit over the usual methods,
That is what I am asking - what to think about it. Are there benefits, are there drawbacks,...
One benefit - helix is inside the body so no need for shapebinder to use it as sweep path.
Another - I am using the face of the Part chamfer to create a Pad - again no need for shapebinder, retracing in sketcher ...
No3 - found that you can drag/drop replace a sketch of a feature - easy change a v-slot 20x20 with v-slot 20x40 or t-slot 40x60

That is what I tried so far. Others might find other uses or provide a good reason why not to use this. Might be a bug to convert to a usable feature. Or a bug that needs fixing. Or a feature that I (we) missed.........
freedman
Posts: 1249
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: Part solids under PD body

Post by freedman » Fri Mar 27, 2020 6:56 pm

Didn't work with my 0.18.160.
I guess that means the process to put these in the body is very close, code wise. I don't mind the way things are but I like anything that might simplify the tree.
Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests