Why OCE and not OCCT

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
Stephl

Why OCE and not OCCT

Postby Stephl » Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:29 am

Hey Forum,

I'm totally new to FreeCAD and think this is a very interesting application / open source project!

I spent the last days with homebrew, git, clang,... trying to compile FreeCad on my mac.
Then I stumbled across OCE and OCCT. I didn't know about these libs before. I was wondering why FreeCAD is using OCE and not OCCT. Is there a specific reason for this? I'm just curious...

Regards
Stephan
Last edited by Stephl on Wed Oct 21, 2015 1:34 pm, edited 1 time in total.
jmaustpc

Re: Why OCE and not OCCT

Postby jmaustpc » Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:43 am

Your first post, welcome to FreeCAD.

Stephl wrote: I was wondering why FreeCAD is using OCE and not OCCT.
In simple and general terms, there was considerable frustration in the opensource world with some of the practices of the company behind OCCT and hence OCE was created. At one time OCE was a lot more advanced, it had code that was not accepted by OCCT due to licence/legal reasons but also OCCT was only releasing a version that was very old. In most ways the OCCT company eventually listened and responded to most of the concerns of the opensource community and mostly repaired its relationship by improving its practices.
Stephl

Postby Stephl » Wed Oct 21, 2015 11:48 am

Wow, that was a fast answer! Thank you.

So I understand, that from today's perspective it is more or less based on historical events and not sooo much on functionality?
tanderson69

Postby tanderson69 » Wed Oct 21, 2015 12:38 pm

jmaustpc wrote:At one time OCE was a lot more advanced