Curves workbench

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:03 pm

Thanks UR_
Do you get an error when typing the following ?

Code: Select all

import freecad
UR_
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby UR_ » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:38 pm

Chris_G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:03 pm
Do you get an error when typing the following ?

Code: Select all

import freecad
Unfortunately, yes!

Code: Select all

>>> import freecad
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "<input>", line 1, in <module>
ImportError: bad magic number in 'freecad': b'\x03\xf3\r\n'
>>> 

Code: Select all

>>> import FreeCAD
>>> 
instead works as expected.
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:45 pm

Then these FC builds are incompatible with new-style workbenches.
I don't know conda at all, so I have no clue why ?
UR_
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby UR_ » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:56 pm

Chris_G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:45 pm
Then these FC builds are incompatible with new-style workbenches.
looo wrote: :bell:
sgrogan wrote: :bell:
User avatar
hammax
Posts: 1184
Joined: Thu Jan 19, 2017 5:03 pm
Location: Ammersee

Re: Curves workbench

Postby hammax » Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:58 pm

... Feedback: Thank you very much!
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 70#p412798
Jeepeeee it's here again:

CurvesWB_2.PNG
CurvesWB_2.PNG (41.61 KiB) Viewed 383 times
Syres
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Syres » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:22 pm

Chris_G wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 4:45 pm
Then these FC builds are incompatible with new-style workbenches.
I don't know conda at all, so I have no clue why ?
I'm going to slightly disagree, perhaps either of the Windows builds don't like Upgrading the workbench from the old style to the new. I carried out quite a bit of testing on the Extension Manager (new proposed AddonManager) and I regularly had to completely delete the folder under Mod when testing the changes. I mostly use the Windows LP build and in the changeover from your old style to new I carried out the same clear-out procedure. My Conda build run the new Curves fine, here's my startup log:

Code: Select all

OpenGL version is: 4.6 (4.6.0 NVIDIA 445.87)
Run Gui init script
Init: Running FreeCADGuiInit.py start script...
Init:   Searching modules...
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\AddonManager... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Arch... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Complete... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Draft... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Drawing... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Fem... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Idf(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Image... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Import... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Inspection... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Material... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Measure(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Mesh... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\MeshPart... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\OpenSCAD... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Part... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\PartDesign... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Path... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Points... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Raytracing... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\ReverseEngineering... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Robot... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Show(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Sketcher... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Spreadsheet... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Start... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Surface... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\TechDraw... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Test... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Tux... done
Init:      Initializing E:\Data\My Downloads\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64\Mod\Web... done
Module: Part
Loading Part module... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\A2plus... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\CfdOF... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Curves(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\fasteners... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\FreeCAD_ExtMan(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Manipulator... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Mechatronic... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Plot(InitGui.py not found)... ignore
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\sheetmetal... done
Init:      Initializing C:\Users\JPS\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod\Silk... done
Init: Initializing freecad.asm3
Init: Initializing freecad.asm3... done
Init: Initializing freecad.plot
Init: Initializing freecad.plot... done
Init: Initializing freecad.extman
Init: Initializing freecad.extman... done
Init: Initializing freecad.Curves
Init: Initializing freecad.Curves... done
Init: Loading FreeCAD GUI
Init: Running FreeCADGuiInit.py start script... done
Init: Activating default workbench StartWorkbench
Loading GUI of Web module... done
Loading GUI of Start module... done
Loading Start module... done
Installed Qt WebEngine locales directory not found at location E:/Data/My Downloads/FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64/FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64/translations\qtwebengine_locales. Trying application directory...
Qt WebEngine locales directory not found at location E:/Data/My Downloads/FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64/FreeCAD_0.19.21514-Win-Conda_vc14.x-x86_64/bin\qtwebengine_locales. Trying fallback directory... Translations MAY NOT not be correct.
QImage::QImage(), XPM is not supported
QPixmap::scaled: Pixmap is a null pixmap
Init: Showing main window
Main window restored
Show main window
Toolbars restored
3Dconnexion device not attached.
Init: Entering event loop
Init: Processing command line files
Loading GUI of Part module... done
Loading Sketcher module... done
Loading GUI of Sketcher module... done
Pivy.graphics interaction library enabled
OS: Windows 7 SP 1 (6.1)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21514 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 89ddab33f692a9bd739171689f9ab0eb58d64b35
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United Kingdom (en_GB)
UR_
Posts: 1189
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby UR_ » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:36 pm

Got it to work again.


Just deleted all *.pyc files recursive to C:\Users\aio\AppData\Roaming\FreeCAD\Mod accordingly to


https://stackoverflow.com/questions/514 ... mber-error


Addon manager should do this by default after updating a workbench.
User avatar
Chris_G
Posts: 1428
Joined: Tue Dec 31, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Chris_G » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:48 pm

OK. Thanks both for your investigation.
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5977
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: Curves workbench

Postby sgrogan » Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:53 pm

UR_ wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:36 pm
Addon manager should do this by default after updating a workbench.
Syres wrote:
Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:22 pm
Windows builds don't like Upgrading the workbench from the old style to the new.
Are you guys using git-python or the zip fallback?
If using git-python the workbench folders are git repos and the .pyc files may be un-tracked causing a merge conflict.
I will investigate the .gitignore files in the workbench repos.
The .pyc files are also causing a problem.
So maybe the .pyc files must be deleted, by addon-manager, prior to git pull, with an update.
Syres
Posts: 763
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: Curves workbench

Postby Syres » Thu Jul 02, 2020 8:57 am

sgrogan wrote:
Wed Jul 01, 2020 8:53 pm
Are you guys using git-python or the zip fallback?
Git-python in my case.
If there's anything you want me to test this weekend please let me know, thanks.