Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Have some feature requests, feedback, cool stuff to share, or want to know where FreeCAD is going? This is the place.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 3930
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby Kunda1 » Mon May 29, 2017 3:44 pm

Opening a thread to discuss the Flamingo Workbench announced in https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21532
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
thschrader
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby thschrader » Mon May 29, 2017 5:37 pm

Sorry kunda 1. Posting moved...
I did a little construction with flamingo / frametools. Runs very fast, you
only need minutes to construct a steelframe. Done with
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6706 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f86a4e411ff7848dea98d7242f43b7774bee8fa0
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
flamingo_test_29.05.2017.png
flamingo_test_29.05.2017.png (132.84 KiB) Viewed 2466 times
Attachment / trimming / moving tools work fine. The profiles are directly loaded from arch/structure predefined.
But: when i will attach a parametric body (drawn via sketcher/pad, then converted in arch/structure object) to the
empty white line, the position flips from blue to red, see picture. Is it mandatory to use native arch/structure profiles
or am I doing something wrong?
comments welcome, Thomas
Attachments
flamingo_test_FC16_29.05.2017.FCStd
(88.38 KiB) Downloaded 57 times
renatorivo
Posts: 2052
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:07 pm
Location: Torino - Italy

Re: Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby renatorivo » Mon May 29, 2017 8:21 pm

Kunda1 wrote:
Mon May 29, 2017 3:44 pm
Opening a thread to discuss the Flamingo Workbench announced in https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21532
Please some administrators can move in this thread anything that is not "Feature Announcements". I can not do it. Thank you
Renato
renatorivo
Posts: 2052
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2012 8:07 pm
Location: Torino - Italy

Re: Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby renatorivo » Mon May 29, 2017 9:04 pm

thschrader wrote:
Mon May 29, 2017 5:37 pm
drawn via sketcher/pad, then converted in arch/structure object
Maybe I'm wrong, but I convert the flat figure to the structure. Draft-> Sketch to Draft, Arch-> Structure. It works
Selezione_009-flamingo.png
Selezione_009-flamingo.png (80.38 KiB) Viewed 2433 times
Renato
thschrader
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby thschrader » Fri Jun 02, 2017 4:17 pm

Some stuff done with flamingo "frame/pipe-tool" and work-features-macro.
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.16.6706 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-16
Hash: f86a4e411ff7848dea98d7242f43b7774bee8fa0
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 6.8.0.oce-0.17
flamingo_test_02.06.2017.png
flamingo_test_02.06.2017.png (245.1 KiB) Viewed 2349 times
flamingo_test_FC16_02.06.2017_mast.FCStd
(227.6 KiB) Downloaded 55 times
You can define your "sytem-lines" with sketcher (red lines) for attaching profiles. Use the sketcher
constuction-lines (blue, not shown) for producing gaps/offsets for later filling in the flanges/connections.
Work-features is a great tool! No problem to construct axes (orange lines). The pipe from flamingo snapping
perfect on to them with the correct lenght. You dont need any separate calculation for finding the correct
orientation in space.
@ renatorivo: Renato, I am still too stupid for attaching parametric profiles at the system-lines.
I re-edited the arch-predefined profiles to fill in the roundings of the upper-lower flanges of the HEA-120 (part fillet).
Its necessary for constructing the vertikal plate-stiffeners at the flanges....
Greetings Thomas
oddtopus
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby oddtopus » Sun Aug 20, 2017 9:27 am

Hello.
Indeed when I thought of Frame-lines I wanted to create parametric sections: in fact it is possible to use directly a "sketch" object, drawn with the Sketcher work bench, as a profile for beams created with "Frame-line manager". The matter is only to practice a little bit because orientation of lines may affect the behaviour of some commands.

I'm attaching an example where is used the profile of an "omega" drawn in a sketch.
profile-sketch.fcstd
example of profile created with sketch
(52.56 KiB) Downloaded 49 times
  • You should only pay attention to draw the lines always in counter-clockwise direction with the multi-line tool.
  • Then apply the dimensions and other constraints.
  • With "Insert std. sections" create the empty Profiles_set.
  • Drag the sketch object into the Profiles_set group.
  • Start creating all your structures with "Frame-line manager"
Other things to remember:
  • If you tag "copy profile", the command will create a copy of the sketch object for each beam that is created. This means that if you change the sketch inside Profile-set, changes won't apply to the structure created. You have to modify the copied sketch to see the beam changed.
  • You can drag in the Profiles_set any 2D object that's accepted as .Base for the Arch.Structure objects
  • I didn't tested this procedure with 0.17 Sketch objects yet: hope it works as well. :?
thschrader
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby thschrader » Sun Aug 20, 2017 12:33 pm

Hi oddtopus,
thanks for the hint. I did the following with FC17. Maybe I do something wrong.
The beams do not attach the selected lines.
flamingo_test_FC17.FCStd
(32.69 KiB) Downloaded 35 times
OS: Windows 10
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.11827 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: ca4488f4387f761df47322038585b23cb5a1bd73
Python version: 2.7.8
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.1.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
counterclockwise.JPG
counterclockwise.JPG (48.17 KiB) Viewed 2159 times
place_one_beam_to_green_edge.JPG
place_one_beam_to_green_edge.JPG (32.89 KiB) Viewed 2159 times
fill_frame.JPG
fill_frame.JPG (31.08 KiB) Viewed 2159 times
result.JPG
result.JPG (39.31 KiB) Viewed 2159 times
oddtopus
Posts: 109
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 6:17 pm

Re: Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby oddtopus » Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:31 pm

Hi @thschrader,
try to make the sketch not attached to any geometry, in x-y plane and without construction lines.

By the way, your previous example gave me some ideas to rewrite the command "pivotTheBeam": you'll probably see it in the commit of this week.
Basically, now it's possible only to select edges directly attached to the object to be pivoted; so next it will be possible to define whatever edge as the axis of rotation, also circles, and copy more than one object at once.
In this way it could be possible to draw only once the tie rod that support the pylon and then copy it three times around it.
thschrader
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby thschrader » Mon Aug 21, 2017 8:25 pm

oddtopus wrote:
Mon Aug 21, 2017 6:31 pm
Hi @thschrader,
try to make the sketch not attached to any geometry, in x-y plane and without construction lines.
Hi oddtopus,
I did as you said. And it wooorks!!! :D
it_works.JPG
it_works.JPG (48.29 KiB) Viewed 2082 times
thschrader
Posts: 1384
Joined: Sat May 20, 2017 12:06 pm
Location: Germany

Re: Flamingo (Workbench) discussion thread

Postby thschrader » Sun Aug 27, 2017 10:26 pm

@oddtopus
there is an interesting approach for using flamingo:
generating steel-reinforcement for complex concrete structures.
https://forum.freecadweb.org/viewtopic. ... 13#p188413