Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
User avatar
FC-Architecter
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:05 pm

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby FC-Architecter » Thu May 17, 2018 4:19 pm

I am guessing the "no object linked" message means that the sketch is not mapped to an object.
Usually we select a face of an object in 3D view, then open sketcher and make the sketch. This maps the sketch to that face. But I don't know how to do that in reverse yet.

I am also guessing that the 2nd error message, "no axis reference specified" means that the sketch does not have constraints attaching it to the x and y axes. If that is correct, then removing the revolution and its dependencies must have done that.

In the final version of 05a, the vertical was constrained at 12.7 mm from the y axis, and the bottom horizontal was constrained flush onto the x axis.

There is a sketch after Revolution001. No error messages come up and the the sketch is fully constrained.

The error message shows with the Pocket. In property view, I can see no anomaly but I don't know what to look for yet.
User avatar
FC-Architecter
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:05 pm

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby FC-Architecter » Thu May 17, 2018 7:14 pm

bejant wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 3:23 am
....

Did you manage to get Sketch to become Fully Constrained?
I have gone back to the last file I made for the preceding tutorial 05a.

As I mentioned before, I deleted, the extra Revolution.

There are 2 sketches in tree view: the pulley sketch and the keyway sketch. They are both fully constrained, so there is nothing I can do with them.
05a_REDO.fcstd
(60.39 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
GeneFC
Posts: 695
Joined: Sat Mar 19, 2016 3:36 pm
Location: Punta Gorda, FL

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby GeneFC » Thu May 17, 2018 10:01 pm

There is no sketch for the pocket. It appears that sketch001 was deleted.

In the model tree the sketch for an operation (pad, pocket, etc.) generally appears directly beneath the operation. The sketch shown right below revolution does *not* serve as the sketch for the pocket operation.

Gene
User avatar
FC-Architecter
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:05 pm

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby FC-Architecter » Fri May 18, 2018 4:10 am

GeneFC wrote:
Thu May 17, 2018 10:01 pm
There is no sketch for the pocket. It appears that sketch001 was deleted.

In the model tree the sketch for an operation (pad, pocket, etc.) generally appears directly beneath the operation. The sketch shown right below revolution does *not* serve as the sketch for the pocket operation.

Gene
Can you tell me how I would go back and correct this, please? Otherwise I will just try to delete everything up to that point and recreate it.

Tutorial tree
TUTORIAL_TREE.png
TUTORIAL_TREE.png (34.78 KiB) Viewed 149 times
My Tree
SKETCH_MISSING.png
SKETCH_MISSING.png (11.89 KiB) Viewed 149 times
Everything up to the point of the missing sketch deleted.
POST_ERROR_FEATURES_DELETED.png
POST_ERROR_FEATURES_DELETED.png (18.36 KiB) Viewed 146 times
User avatar
FC-Architecter
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:05 pm

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby FC-Architecter » Fri May 18, 2018 4:30 am

I have a slightly OT question:

when I start a sketch and click the xy axis controls, my grid is always opens much bigger than those in the tutorials but they measurements are the same. I have to reduce them. Would anyone know why?
User avatar
HarryGeier
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 10, 2017 12:36 pm
Location: Hof Germany

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby HarryGeier » Fri May 18, 2018 6:42 am

FC-Architecter wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 4:30 am
I have a slightly OT question:

when I start a sketch and click the xy axis controls, my grid is always opens much bigger than those in the tutorials but they measurements are the same. I have to reduce them. Would anyone know why?
Unless you create a regular Pattern, best is switch GRID OFF , both visibility and snap.

Grid and constrained geometry are not really good partners..
Kaum macht man´s richtig , gehts´s
My Video Tutorials on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCoe3B ... p8Q/videos
My FreeCAD Stuff on Hidrive: https://my.hidrive.com/share/qr3l1yddy6#$/
User avatar
FC-Architecter
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:05 pm

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby FC-Architecter » Fri May 18, 2018 2:59 pm

HarryGeier wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 6:42 am
....
Unless you create a regular Pattern, best is switch GRID OFF , both visibility and snap.

Grid and constrained geometry are not really good partners..
thanks for responding on this. I am working on video tutorial 07a, but it is based on the file from 05a. So I am doing 05a over again.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e6murcd ... 8q&index=4

At minute 8:38 of the video, It says "preselect the y axis" I can go into property view and find the y axis but I do not see how to "preselect" it. Since the control is off screen in the video, would anyone know how to do that? When I go to View > Toggle Axis cross, it does not show the same view as the video.

This is the video screen.
PRESELECT_Y_AXIS.png
PRESELECT_Y_AXIS.png (274.43 KiB) Viewed 124 times
THIS_IS_WHAT_I_SHOULD_GET.png
THIS_IS_WHAT_I_SHOULD_GET.png (73.75 KiB) Viewed 120 times
This is my screen.
MY_FILE_PRESELECT_Y_AXIS.png
MY_FILE_PRESELECT_Y_AXIS.png (76.68 KiB) Viewed 121 times
I am also missing the grid. I think if I go into Sketcher, I can get the grid back.
User avatar
bejant
Posts: 5081
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 3:06 pm

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby bejant » Fri May 18, 2018 8:22 pm

FC-Architecter wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 4:10 am
Can you tell me how I would go back and correct this, please?
(snip)
Image

Here's how to do that:

Get rid of the things that can't be re-used
Delete Pocket.
Delete PolarPattern.

Recreate Sketch001
Hide everything except Revolution.
In the 3D view, select the planar face of Revolution onto which you'd like to create Sketch001.
Click the Create Sketch tool:
Image
Sketch the circle for the hole, and Fully Constrain it per the tutorial.
Close Sketcher.

Recreate Pocket
Select Sketch001 in the history tree, then click the Pocket tool:
Image
Change the Type to "Through All" and press the Ok button.

Recreate PolarPattern
In the history tree, select Pocket.
Click the PolarPattern tool, change the number of occurrences to 4, then press the Ok button.

Attach Sketch002 onto PolarPattern
Select the planar face of PolarPattern onto which you want to attach existing Sketch002.
While that face is selected, click the Map Sketch To Face tool:
Image
In the pop-up window, choose Sketch002 from the drop-down list and click the Ok button.

Make the Keyway Visible
In the history tree, select PolarPattern and press Spacebar to toggle visibility to off.
Select Pocket001 in the history tree and press Spacebar to make it visible.


FC-Architecter wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 4:10 am
Otherwise I will just try to delete everything up to that point and recreate it.
Try not to delete Sketches and Features that are still good - it makes for wasted effort. Instead, re-use what can be re-used (as in the above example).

FC-Architecter wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 2:59 pm
At minute 8:38 of the video, It says "preselect the y axis" I can go into property view and find the y axis but I do not see how to "preselect" it. Since the control is off screen in the video, would anyone know how to do that
While in Sketcher, click the Create Circle tool:
Image
Hover the cursor over the Y-axis until the Y-axis turns yellow.
The cursor should change to indicate that a Point Onto Edge Constraint will be applied.
While the Y-axis is yellow, click your mouse to locate the center of the circle.
The center of the circle should have been fixed onto the Y-Axis by the Fix Point Onto Edge Constraint:
Image
User avatar
FC-Architecter
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:05 pm

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby FC-Architecter » Sun May 20, 2018 12:45 pm

bejant wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 8:22 pm
....

Get rid of the things that can't be re-used
Delete Pocket.
Delete PolarPattern.
Done.
bejant wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 8:22 pm
Recreate Sketch001
I hope I have that, but I have no way to check unless I just go back to the last file of 05a and start over.
bejant wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 8:22 pm
Hide everything except Revolution.
Not sure about how to do this. I can highlight them in tree view and click space bar but don't see much change.
bejant wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 8:22 pm
In the 3D view, select the planar face of Revolution onto which you'd like to create Sketch001.
No problem. That would be the neck of the first sketch. We want to pocket the holes there.

So it looks like what they say in the video about preselecting the y axis is a non-issue, because we can see the axis cross in the sketch.
I think you mean here to also delete sketch001 if we are recreating it. Otherwise we will have a sketch001 followed by a sketch002.
bejant wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 8:22 pm
Click the Create Sketch tool:
Image
Sketch the circle for the hole, and Fully Constrain it per the tutorial.
Close Sketcher.

I finish this in the next post.
User avatar
FC-Architecter
Posts: 214
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2018 9:05 pm

Re: Cannot See Error Message in Tutorial 07a

Postby FC-Architecter » Sun May 20, 2018 1:13 pm

bejant wrote:
Fri May 18, 2018 8:22 pm
....

Attach Sketch002 onto PolarPattern
Select the planar face of PolarPattern onto which you want to attach existing Sketch002.
....

I think you can see from the screenshot that after putting in 4 pockets, there is not one planar surface anymore. It is 4 separate sections. Do we select them all?

I think we can do this if we first reduce the radius of the pockets as it says in the video. Then the entire surface would be selected.
P.S. Is there any way to make these screenshots smaller?
Planar_surface_polar_pattern.png
Planar_surface_polar_pattern.png (91.15 KiB) Viewed 86 times