Arch wall bug

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
ikua
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:32 pm

Arch wall bug

Postby ikua » Fri Jul 27, 2018 12:20 pm

Hello!

It seems that arch wall is not able to work with big angles, 170 degress for example.

how to check:
1. draw a dwire in one plan with 90 angle (two edges)
2. make a wall with the dwire
3. edit the dwire an make the angle bigger (closer to a straight line)
4. at some point you get the message:
DraftGeomUtils: unable to bind wires
Error: Invalid base object
and the wall stops to get recalculatet.

Tried in 0.17 Version and also in one 0.18

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.18.13959 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 2f18182b6dff87f8857787c854e39ca4d441f993
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2926
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: Arch wall bug

Postby meme2704 » Fri Jul 27, 2018 12:54 pm

Hi
I do not see it, maybe you have just said the coincidence of the summit
Attachments
mur.PNG
mur.PNG (21.01 KiB) Viewed 440 times
ikua
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: Arch wall bug

Postby ikua » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:06 pm

see attached file. Wall001 and Wall002 are based on dwire with big angles.
if you change dwire001 to a smaller angle suddenly the wall appears.
Attachments
wall problem.FCStd
(13.67 KiB) Downloaded 12 times
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Arch wall bug

Postby NormandC » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:24 pm

If I mark the document for recompute then recompute the document, Wall001 and Wall002 are repaired.

OS: Ubuntu 18.04.1 LTS
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13522 (Git) AppImage
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 3bb5ff4e70c0c526f2d9dd69b1004155b2f527f2
Python version: 2.7.6
Qt version: 4.8.6
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: French/Canada (fr_CA)
Attachments
wall problem_fixed_nc1.FCStd
(20.88 KiB) Downloaded 10 times
User avatar
NormandC
Posts: 18534
Joined: Sat Feb 06, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: Québec, Canada

Re: Arch wall bug

Postby NormandC » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:28 pm

ikua wrote:
Fri Jul 27, 2018 12:20 pm
3. edit the dwire an make the angle bigger (closer to a straight line)
4. at some point you get the message:
DraftGeomUtils: unable to bind wires
Error: Invalid base object
and the wall stops to get recalculatet.
I can't reproduce.
Attachments
FC_Arch_Wall_Edit_Wire_01.gif
FC_Arch_Wall_Edit_Wire_01.gif (33.45 KiB) Viewed 429 times
User avatar
meme2704
Posts: 2926
Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 2:47 pm
Location: Vosges

Re: Arch wall bug

Postby meme2704 » Fri Jul 27, 2018 1:30 pm

it's the same for me :!:
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 12058
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Arch wall bug

Postby yorik » Fri Jul 27, 2018 7:39 pm

Works for me too... Any error message in the console?
ikua
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:32 pm

Re: Arch wall bug

Postby ikua » Sat Jul 28, 2018 7:05 pm

for me it does not work. Strange.
error message:
DraftGeomUtils.connect: unable to connect edges
(<Line object>, ' ', Vector (400.0, 300.0, 0.0), ' ', Vector (1000.0, 300.0, 0.0))
(<Line object>, ' ', Vector (970.4511880673244, 304.46535856890773, 0.0), ' ', Vector (1526.044815997012, 132.62055571246242, 0.0))
DraftGeomUtils.connect: unable to connect edges
(<Line object>, ' ', Vector (400.0, 500.0, 0.0), ' ', Vector (1000.0, 500.0, 0.0))
(<Line object>, ' ', Vector (1029.5488119326756, 495.53464143109227, 0.0), ' ', Vector (1585.142439862363, 323.68983857464696, 0.0))
DraftGeomUtils: unable to bind wires
Error: Invalid base object
Attachments
wall problem.gif
wall problem.gif (85 KiB) Viewed 385 times