Problems with DetailView (False Dimension)

Discussions about the development of the TechDraw workbench
kbwbe
Posts: 965
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Problems with DetailView (False Dimension)

Postby kbwbe » Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:02 pm

Hi,
have problems with a false dimension within a detailview.
Dimension 182,74mm in detailview is 224,74mm in mainview. (224,74 is the correct one).
File is attached. Do i something wrong or is this a bug ?
TechDraw-DetailView-Problem.png
TechDraw-DetailView-Problem.png (151.18 KiB) Viewed 592 times
I am on:
OS: Linux Mint 18.3 Sylvia
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.17.13522 (Git)
Build type: None
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-17
Hash: 3bb5ff4e70c0c526f2d9dd69b1004155b2f527f2
Python version: 2.7.12
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: German/Germany (de_DE)

Thank you for any help.
Attachments
Drawing.fcstd
(179.41 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.47f, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorial: gripper assembly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMxcQ5tssWk
Documentation: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Problems with DetailView (False Dimension)

Postby wandererfan » Mon Nov 05, 2018 3:16 pm

kbwbe wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:02 pm
have problems with a false dimension within a detailview.
Dimension 182,74mm in detailview is 224,74mm in mainview. (224,74 is the correct one).
File is attached. Do i something wrong or is this a bug ?
Looks like a bug to me. I'll look deeper when I get home.
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Problems with DetailView (False Dimension)

Postby wandererfan » Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:42 pm

kbwbe wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:02 pm
Do i something wrong or is this a bug ?
Definitely a bug, but not the bug it appears to be.

Bottom is inverted (as it should be), but DetailView is right side up. The Dimension in DetailView is at the other end of the piece compared to the the Dimension in Bottom. So the 2 points of the Dimension in the DetailView are not the same points as the Dimension in Bottom.

DetailView will have to be modified to be aware when the Source view is part of a ProjectionGroup and is shown inverted.
kbwbe
Posts: 965
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: Problems with DetailView (False Dimension)

Postby kbwbe » Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:18 pm

wandererfan wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 7:42 pm
kbwbe wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 12:02 pm
Do i something wrong or is this a bug ?
DetailView will have to be modified to be aware when the Source view is part of a ProjectionGroup and is shown inverted.
Thank you for your work, Chris!
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.47f, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorial: gripper assembly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMxcQ5tssWk
Documentation: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench
User avatar
wandererfan
Posts: 4078
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 5:42 pm

Re: Problems with DetailView (False Dimension)

Postby wandererfan » Sat Nov 10, 2018 1:14 pm

kbwbe wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 8:18 pm
ping
PR1786 submitted for this issue.
WrongDimValue_kbwbe.png
WrongDimValue_kbwbe.png (38.57 KiB) Viewed 459 times
kbwbe
Posts: 965
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2018 3:12 pm
Location: Germany, near Köln (Cologne)

Re: Problems with DetailView (False Dimension)

Postby kbwbe » Sat Nov 10, 2018 1:51 pm

wandererfan wrote:
Sat Nov 10, 2018 1:14 pm
PR1786 submitted for this issue.
Great ! Thank you very much.
KBWBE

https://github.com/kbwbe/A2plus
latest release: v0.4.47f, installable via FreeCAD's addon manager
Tutorial: gripper assembly https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QMxcQ5tssWk
Documentation: https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/A2plus_Workbench