What is the difference between the "mesher" tools?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
leoheck
Posts: 210
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

What is the difference between the "mesher" tools?

Postby leoheck » Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:46 pm

I have to generate some meshes to 3d print.

I was just exporting .stl files or just importing FCStd files directly on Cura. Since Freecad 0.18.3 does not work anymore with the Cura plugin, I would like to use the Mesh Workbench for that.

I am seeing here, 3 mesher tools (standard, mefisto, and netgen). I have two questions.

1. So what is the difference between them? There is no info about that here https://www.freecadweb.org/wiki/Mesh_MeshFromShape
2. Why netgen ins not available (it is greyed out)?
Last edited by Kunda1 on Thu Aug 22, 2019 4:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Fixed typo on thread title
User avatar
PrzemoF
Posts: 2750
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2014 4:52 pm
Contact:

Re: What is the difference bettwen the "mesher" tools?

Postby PrzemoF » Thu Aug 22, 2019 10:43 am

1. Search the net using !fc on duckduckgo.com
2. Maybe it's not compiled in your version of FreeCAD
UR_
Posts: 1172
Joined: Tue Jan 03, 2017 8:42 pm

Re: What is the difference bettwen the "mesher" tools?

Postby UR_ » Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:26 am

example:

Screenshot 004.png
Screenshot 004.png (76.13 KiB) Viewed 198 times
Syres
Posts: 464
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: What is the difference bettwen the "mesher" tools?

Postby Syres » Thu Aug 22, 2019 11:50 am

leoheck wrote:
Tue Aug 20, 2019 6:46 pm
I have to generate some meshes to 3d print.

I was just exporting .stl files or just importing FCStd files directly on Cura. Since Freecad 0.18.3 does not work anymore with the Cura plugin
I use this macro (thanks to Damian Łoziński) https://github.com/dlozinski/FreeCAD-ma ... cer/slic3r , it's not yet merged into master but it can be used with Cura by modifying line 24 to reflect the Cura location e.g.

Code: Select all

SLICER_CMD = ["E:/MyProgs/Ultimaker Cura 4.2/Cura.exe"]
line 27 to the obj format

Code: Select all

OUTPUT_FORMAT = "obj"
and lines 72 & 74 to have Cura rather than Slic3r in the messages. The quality of the 3D prints is sufficient for me but if you're not satisfied then you will need to change line 30 for AngularDeflection and/or line 60 LinearDeflection (in mm). I've tested it successfully with 0.18.2, 0.18.3 and the Link3 merge 0.19.17803 Windows Build.