[ Solved ] [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

This forum section is only for IFC-related issues
Roy_043
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

[ Solved ] [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

Postby Roy_043 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:20 am

If I create an Arch_BuildingPart in V0.19 it has 'Actuator' as its IFC type. This seems wrong to me. In V0.18 the IFC type (then called 'IFC role') is 'Undefined'.

Code: Select all

OS: Windows 8.1 (6.3)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.18024 (Git)
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 9cc8f6eb666b0a0ae2dc256f7bc0beb8c987710c
Python version: 3.6.8
Qt version: 5.12.1
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: Dutch/Netherlands (nl_NL)
Last edited by Roy_043 on Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
vocx
Posts: 986
Joined: Thu Oct 18, 2018 9:18 pm

Re: [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

Postby vocx » Fri Sep 13, 2019 5:10 pm

Roy_043 wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:20 am
If I create an Arch_BuildingPart in V0.19 it has 'Actuator' as its IFC type. This seems wrong to me. In V0.18 the IFC type (then called 'IFC role') is 'Undefined'.
You should ask this in the Arch IFC subforum. I remember that in the last weeks, Moult and Yorik were updating some IFC files, and they mentioned something about the "Undefined" type.

---

I just checked the code. See pull request #2259, and git commit a937461d6f.

The BuildingPart class now is derived from ArchIFC.IfcProduct, which defines a bunch of IFC products, types and contexts, in .json files. This probably changes how some objects are initialized. So, just give some days for Moult and Yorik to fix it.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5153
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

Postby Kunda1 » Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:12 pm

moved thread to Arch/IFC subforum
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8217
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

Postby bernd » Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:15 pm

Roy_043 wrote:
Fri Sep 13, 2019 10:20 am
If I create an Arch_BuildingPart in V0.19 it has 'Actuator' as its IFC type. This seems wrong to me. In V0.18 the IFC type (then called 'IFC role') is 'Undefined'.
I can confirm. But only if you have set IFC version to IFC4. If you have set to IFC version 2x3 it is an Annotation. But this is wrong too.
User avatar
bernd
Posts: 8217
Joined: Sun Sep 08, 2013 8:07 pm
Location: Zürich, Switzerland

Re: [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

Postby bernd » Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:12 pm

git commit d563d90 I made some comment as well.
Roy_043
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

Postby Roy_043 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 9:04 am

Thanks for fixing this.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5153
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:28 pm

@Roy_043 is this then [Solved] ?
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features
Roy_043
Posts: 349
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:28 pm

Re: [ Solved ] [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

Postby Roy_043 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 1:46 pm

I have edited the topic title.
User avatar
Kunda1
Posts: 5153
Joined: Thu Jan 05, 2017 9:03 pm

Re: [ Solved ] [ Bug ] Arch_BuildingPart wrong IFC type in V0.19

Postby Kunda1 » Sun Sep 15, 2019 6:50 pm

:+1:
Want to contribute back to FC? Checkout:
#lowhangingfruit | Use the Source, Luke. | How to Help FreeCAD | How to report FC bugs and features