32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Having trouble installing or compiling FreeCAD? Get help here.
freedman
Posts: 1408
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2018 3:02 am
Location: Washington State, USA

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby freedman » Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:33 am

Laptops and desktops are standard hardware and it seems they update pretty well with new versions of OS. Tablets are much tougher to upgrade and many run 32 bit, I don't need 32 bit but I hope it can continue to be built.
openBrain
Posts: 3880
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2018 5:38 pm

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby openBrain » Wed Feb 05, 2020 9:46 am

freedman wrote:
Wed Feb 05, 2020 7:33 am
Laptops and desktops are standard hardware and it seems they update pretty well with new versions of OS. Tablets are much tougher to upgrade and many run 32 bit, I don't need 32 bit but I hope it can continue to be built.
Anyway tablets much run with an ARM processor which AFAIK isn't officially supported ATM. ;)
gwbruce
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:45 pm

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby gwbruce » Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:31 am

I would very much like to see a 32 bit version of FreeCAD V.19. My old computer won't even run the 64 bit version of V.18

I sure hope there is a 32 bit version of .19 soon.

Thanks,
GWB

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.18.4 (GitTag)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
kisolre
Posts: 2102
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2018 1:13 pm

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby kisolre » Thu Apr 23, 2020 7:14 am

gwbruce wrote:
Thu Apr 23, 2020 12:31 am
My old computer won't even run the 64 bit version of V.18
Hello and welcome :)
Since you have a 64-bit OS running there why would it not run 64-bit apps? Please post in the Help subforum with a description of the problems you experience trying to run the 64-bit versions of FreeCAD. Check here Start_up_and_Configuration about how to produce a log file and attach it to your post.
gwbruce
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:45 pm

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby gwbruce » Mon May 04, 2020 5:38 pm

It really isn't that the computer won't run the 64 bit version. It seems to run it fine. However my video driver won't do rotation and panning. For example if I go to rotate a Part Design workbench view it will jerk. I have the navigation setup for "gesture" and it works just fine in the 32 bit version but in the 64 bit version it is nearly unusable. I press the left mouse button to do a rotate and move it and the view on the screen won't move then it will suddenly jerk in the direction I moved the mouse. The rotation isn't smooth like it is in the 32 bit version.

Thanks,
Gary

OS: Windows 7
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 32-bit
Version: 0.18.4 (GitTag)
Build type: Release
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-18
Hash: 980bf9060e28555fecd9e3462f68ca74007b70f8
Python version: 2.7.14
Qt version: 4.8.7
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.2.0
Locale: English/UnitedStates (en_US)
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5800
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby sgrogan » Mon May 04, 2020 9:02 pm

gwbruce wrote:
Mon May 04, 2020 5:38 pm
The rotation isn't smooth like it is in the 32 bit version.
I think the difference isn't 32bit vs 64bit, but rather the version of QT that the respective builds use.
The 32bit build uses QT4 and the 64bit uses QT5.

On the 64bit version you can try to navigate to the bin directory and find the file openglsw.dll and rename it to opengl.dll, then restart FreeCAD. See if the problem goes away.
gwbruce
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:45 pm

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby gwbruce » Tue May 05, 2020 3:05 am

I will give this a try.
If this works should I try if for version .19 also?

Thanks
User avatar
sgrogan
Posts: 5800
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 5:02 pm

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby sgrogan » Tue May 05, 2020 9:28 am

gwbruce wrote:
Tue May 05, 2020 3:05 am
If this works should I try if for version .19 also?
This is for 0.19, sorry not to be clear.
gwbruce
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:45 pm

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby gwbruce » Tue May 05, 2020 1:39 pm

Got it. I'll see if I can get time to try it in the next couple of days. Things are kind of hectic around my place right now. I'll let you know how it goes.

Thanks,
Gary
gwbruce
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 21, 2020 3:45 pm

Re: 32Bit version for Windows? 0.19? 0.18.4?

Postby gwbruce » Sun May 24, 2020 12:59 am

Sorry it has taken me so long to get back to this but life has gotten in the way. I did a lot of searching and I have not been able to find the file <openglsw.dll> I can find may *.dll files but not this one. Do you have any other suggestions?

Thanks,
Gary