How to place rabbet on a cylinder (Solved)

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
ov10fac
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:01 am
Location: Omaha Nebraska

How to place rabbet on a cylinder (Solved)

Postby ov10fac » Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:19 pm

OS: Fedora 31 (Workstation Edition) (GNOME/gnome-xorg)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.19274 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 1da11e4e5c760e0db7b8e0d9a80ca5a8c172b326
Python version: 3.8.1
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)

I am designing the top of a dust collection system and need to put a 1/4 inch by 1/4 inch rabbet around the edge to fit inside the drum it will fit over. I must not be seeing something because I can't seem to get it to work. I have attached the drawing that I have completed so far. I know I need to use the groove tool I think. In future designs I will need to design grooves inside the cylinder so my thought is to start with the easy one first. If anyone can point me in the right direction I would be appreciative.
Attachments
DustCollectorTop.FCStd
(10.9 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Last edited by ov10fac on Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
fmluizao
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:16 pm

Re: How to place rabbet on a cylinder

Postby fmluizao » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:01 pm

Can you provide an image of what you want to accomplish? Not sure if I understand...
Bance
Posts: 223
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2015 3:00 pm
Location: London

Re: How to place rabbet on a cylinder

Postby Bance » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:29 pm

You have a problem with Pad.

You need to edit sketch and delete or change to construction mode the inner large diameter circle.

groove will then succeed.

Steve.
fmluizao
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:16 pm

Re: How to place rabbet on a cylinder

Postby fmluizao » Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:55 pm

Thats what you want?
Screenshot from 2020-01-15 13-53-17.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-15 13-53-17.png (29.52 KiB) Viewed 92 times
Attachments
DustCollectorTop.FCStd
(13.57 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
ov10fac
Posts: 35
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2019 3:01 am
Location: Omaha Nebraska

Re: How to place rabbet on a cylinder

Postby ov10fac » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:27 pm

fmluizao wrote:
Wed Jan 15, 2020 4:55 pm
Thats what you want?

Screenshot from 2020-01-15 13-53-17.png
Exactly, how did you do that? What I actually did to get it done was to create a sketch of the profile I wanted, then revolved it to get everything except the two holes. Next step is to just add the two 4" holes. Although this method isn't as intuitive to me, it worked really well. But I would still like to know how to use the groove tool a whole lot better. Most of the tutorial are grooving the sides of a cylinder, I tried to do the same thing with the face of this cylinder, but could not get it to do what I wanted. I have attached the new drawing.

Thanks.
Attachments
DustCollectorTopV2.FCStd
(19.71 KiB) Not downloaded yet
fmluizao
Posts: 40
Joined: Tue Nov 19, 2019 7:16 pm

Re: How to place rabbet on a cylinder

Postby fmluizao » Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:48 pm

ov10fac wrote:
Thu Jan 16, 2020 4:27 pm
Exactly, how did you do that?
First, I turned the inner circle of the first sketch to construction geometry:
Screenshot from 2020-01-16 13-34-28.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-16 13-34-28.png (51.03 KiB) Viewed 52 times
The result is a cilinder whith the holes:
Screenshot from 2020-01-16 13-36-13.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-16 13-36-13.png (18.15 KiB) Viewed 52 times
Next, a just used Groove (Revolved cut) using Z axis as a reference:
Screenshot from 2020-01-16 13-35-05.png
Screenshot from 2020-01-16 13-35-05.png (63.83 KiB) Viewed 52 times
Another option would be use 2 pads, and after cut the holes. See attached example.
Attachments
DustCollectorTop.FCStd
(15.34 KiB) Not downloaded yet