How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
leoheck
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby leoheck » Mon May 18, 2020 6:42 pm

I am seeing this in one of my models. How do I debug what is going on, so I can fix it? It says to ignore, but there are so many messages that it annoys me so bad.

Code: Select all

Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
Enumeration index -1 is out of range, ignore it
wmayer
Site Admin
Posts: 15716
Joined: Thu Feb 19, 2009 10:32 am

Re: How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby wmayer » Tue May 19, 2020 6:46 am

Can you test if with git commit 8fcd436de the warning won't be shown any more?
leoheck
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby leoheck » Wed May 20, 2020 4:46 pm

Sorry, I can't I was not able to build it on my Ubuntu 20.04 yet.
Is it possible to add this to the next appimage daily build?
Syres
Posts: 632
Joined: Thu Aug 09, 2018 11:14 am

Re: How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby Syres » Wed May 20, 2020 5:05 pm

Certainly suppressed warnings on one of my files with many Draft-Arrays in it. Using my count back in Master, it should be in the FreeCAD_0.19-21125-Linux-Conda_glibc2.12-x86_64.AppImage available now, unless I'm not thinking straight in this heat.

OS: Linux Mint 19.3 (X-Cinnamon/cinnamon)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21129 (Git)
Build type: Unknown
Branch: master
Hash: e47515beb041e8b5bdf702e734489062129b4c97
Python version: 3.6.9
Qt version: 5.9.5
Coin version: 4.0.0a
OCC version: 7.3.0
Locale: English/UnitedKingdom (en_GB)
leoheck
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby leoheck » Sat May 23, 2020 4:22 pm

I believe I am not seeing this enumeration index issue anymore.


Now I cam still seeing these many of these created objects. Any idea who should improve/fix/clean this?

Code: Select all

Cannot find icon: :/icons/PartDesign_Body_Create_New.svg
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
created object
TheMarkster
Posts: 1346
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:53 am

Re: How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby TheMarkster » Sat May 23, 2020 5:29 pm

Perhaps you have logging enabled, which results in a more verbose report view.

Go to Edit menu -> Preferences -> General -> OutputWindow and uncheck Record log messages checkbox.
My FreeCAD video series on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/mwganson
leoheck
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby leoheck » Sat May 23, 2020 6:40 pm

No, this is not the case. I believe this is the default setting.

I would like to click reset but I have no idea if this is going to reset settings on current view only or ALL the settings. Maybe a button inside the view, to reset the view, or another button right after the RESET for the current view only would be the best thing for users to understand this.

Screenshot-20200523153034-593x517.png
Screenshot-20200523153034-593x517.png (39.17 KiB) Viewed 155 times

I mean, sometimes devs add some fast logs to understand something they are working. But they should be removed or at least improved once they are committing/releasing something. Because a simple and random message like "created object" does not mean something, we (users) can understand. In this case, we don't know if this is from FreeCad, from a Plugin, related to my design or just something to debug the flow. So it is pretty much empty of information.

Maybe Freecad could be improved to append at the beginning of the logline whos is generating this each message.


OS: Ubuntu 20.04 LTS (ubuntu:GNOME/ubuntu)
Word size of OS: 64-bit
Word size of FreeCAD: 64-bit
Version: 0.19.21125 (Git) AppImage
Build type: Release
Branch: master
Hash: 40600a55c2fe71ff589be677f6e427ccc937d003
Python version: 3.8.2
Qt version: 5.12.5
Coin version: 4.0.0
OCC version: 7.4.0
Locale: English/United States (en_US)
TheMarkster
Posts: 1346
Joined: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:53 am

Re: How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby TheMarkster » Sat May 23, 2020 7:53 pm

I think you have the default settings. I've never seen this particular message. Can you upload the file that produces it?
My FreeCAD video series on youtube: https://www.youtube.com/c/mwganson
leoheck
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby leoheck » Sat May 23, 2020 11:45 pm

I believe some of my files show that.

My example is too large to share here, so it is on my dropbox
https://www.dropbox.com/s/gtza7b79aib3r ... FCStd?dl=0

This one was generated now by importing a Kicad board with KicadStepup WB. But it is not always the case.
I also have the Part-O-Matic WB installed. It looks too noisy sometimes.

Do you know if there is a fast command to retrieve all plugins installed to share here?
Maybe the button that copies the FreeCad version could add 3rdParty plugins to the info with their versions.

Just to give more context, these are the plugins installed.

Code: Select all

~/.FreeCAD/Mod 
➜ ls -1
3D_Printing_Tools
A2plus
Assembly4
ExplodedAssembly
fasteners
FCGear
kicadStepUpMod
lattice2
nurbs
Part-o-magic
Render
slic3r-tools
WebTools
leoheck
Posts: 336
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2018 5:56 pm

Re: How to solve/debug this enumeration index issue?

Postby leoheck » Sun May 24, 2020 12:42 am

I just imported a step file with Freecad. And it showed many "created object". Maybe this gives an idea where the issue is.
`