Need some help about Part.makeRevolution(Curve)

Here's the place for discussion related to coding in FreeCAD, C++ or Python. Design, interfaces and structures.
Forum rules
Be nice to others! Respect the FreeCAD code of conduct!
willa8004

Need some help about Part.makeRevolution(Curve)

Post by willa8004 »

Hello everyone! I'm new to FreeCAD. I have some experience of using C++ and OpenCASCADE to develop some simple 3D modeling software.

I want to write a Python script to created a parametric object, but I stucked with the Part.makeRevolution(). I want to make a revolution body from a sketch, but the Part.makeRevolution() only accepts Curve as its parameter. I have searched the API documentation, but I still have no idea about how to convert Sketch object to Curve object, and I even don't know how to create Curve object from a list of Edge objects. Does anyone have some ideas about that?

Another thing is, the revolve angle that I needed is usually smaller than 360 degree, but if the revolution is based on a sketch or a curve, I guess what I finally get will be a shell of a tube or something. What I really need is a solid, so, when I was developing with C++ and OpenCASCADE, I always call BRepPrimAPI_MakeRevol with a TopoDS_Face object builed with TopoDS_Wire, and I will get a solid instead of a shell. I'm also have to using a Face object to get a extruded solid with FreeCAD. So, how can I get a solid from Part.makeRevolution()?
jonasthomas

Re: Need some help about Part.makeRevolution(Curve)

Post by jonasthomas »

Try doing it from the Gui while recording a macro...
The resultant script should give you some clues.
willa8004

Post by willa8004 »

jonasthomas wrote:Try doing it from the Gui while recording a macro...
The resultant script should give you some clues.
Thanks for your response. I have tried this, it will give me a set of "Part::Revolution" or "PartDesign::Revolution" objects which is not what I need.