3D print problem related to open constraints?

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
t86951

3D print problem related to open constraints?

Postby t86951 » Thu May 22, 2014 4:05 am

Total Freecad noob here. I tried making a simple shape on freecad and had problems getting all the "degrees of freedom" locked down. So I ended up extruding the shape despite still having 2 degrees of freedom and exported it as an STL file. When I tried printing it on my Velleman K8200 printer, the layers did not line up and I got a screwed up print. Is that because of the unconstrained sketch in the first place....?
NormandC

Re: 3D print problem related to open constraints?

Postby NormandC » Thu May 22, 2014 4:26 am

Whether a sketch is fully constrained or not has absolutely no effect on the part generated from it. It is not mandatory for a sketch to be fully constrained, but it is considered best practice. For one thing it ensures that the geometry could not accidentally be changed by picking an element with the mouse, also you make sure the profile is exactly as you have planned it.

Your problem may have a variety of sources, it may very well be that it has nothing to do with FreeCAD but with your 3D printer configuration. Layers not lining up seems to indicate missed steps which could point to a hardware issue. But this forum is not the place to discuss this.
t86951

Postby t86951 » Thu May 22, 2014 4:55 am

Until now, I've used Tinkercad to create .STL files, and they've all worked fine on the same printer with the same setting. So are freecad stl files somehow different than tinkercad .STL files?
quick61

Postby quick61 » Thu May 22, 2014 5:08 am