About inserting windows

A forum dedicated to the Draft, Arch and BIM workbenches development.
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

About inserting windows

Postby rockn » Thu Jul 10, 2014 10:50 am

The presets of windows are really awesome !
With snapping mode "passive" it is very easy to place the window.
01.png
01.png (336.89 KiB) Viewed 2315 times
But there is a problem when you want to add window on the other face of the wall.
03.png
03.png (417.83 KiB) Viewed 2315 times
Some directions are inverted. And when I apply the window (click) we can see (especially with doors) that Z direction is inverted.
04.png
04.png (361.26 KiB) Viewed 2315 times
We have to change manually the placement of the sketch of the window.

Have you this behavior ? Any tips to fix it ?
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11147
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: About inserting windows

Postby yorik » Thu Jul 10, 2014 2:33 pm

Hmm I can't really see what's wrong... The door is rotated?
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: About inserting windows

Postby rockn » Fri Jul 11, 2014 11:56 am

I recognize that my captures and my explanations are not very explicit.
Yes the window is rotated, the top of the door (there is a cross-piece) is in bottom. But the order of the external/interior layers is respected.
And when the wall is not along a total axis (X, Y, Z), that becomes difficult to move the sketch.
And one notices with the previsualisation of the placement's window that the cursor is in top on the right, whereas it is in bottom on the left when that occurs well.
I imagine that it would be necessary to force the orientation of the sketch towards Z… Or then a key to be pressed during the placement to reverse it…
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11147
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: About inserting windows

Postby yorik » Fri Jul 11, 2014 2:36 pm

Hm I think I see now. The sketch takes its Z direction from the underlying face, which is correct, but should maintain a "Y up" direction. I'll look at that ASAP -> issue #1604
User avatar
saso
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: About inserting windows

Postby saso » Fri Jul 11, 2014 4:41 pm

When I look a bit around FreeCAD and specially Arch (since it is my main interest) I am many times positively surprised how well many things already work. And I agree with rockn, preset windows are already quite awesome. So I can say only thank you yorik for this great work :)

One thing I however really miss with windows is sill height property. I guess for now it can be simple from the wall base, sooner or later we will however for sure also need levels (could we reuse "named workplanes" as leves ?), then sill height could be also from level...
Last edited by saso on Fri Jul 11, 2014 4:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11147
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: About inserting windows

Postby yorik » Fri Jul 11, 2014 4:52 pm

Indeed, very good idea. Would you mind creating a feature request for this on the tracker? (You can attribute it to me already). Thanks!
User avatar
saso
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: About inserting windows

Postby saso » Fri Jul 11, 2014 4:58 pm

yorik wrote:Indeed, very good idea. Would you mind creating a feature request for this on the tracker? (You can attribute it to me already). Thanks!
Ok and I am sure I will have some more requests to put there ;)
User avatar
saso
Posts: 1185
Joined: Fri May 16, 2014 1:14 pm
Contact:

Re: About inserting windows

Postby saso » Fri Jul 11, 2014 5:29 pm

... I guess I don't have the right to change status (assign) or how do I attribute it to someone?
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 11147
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: São Paulo, Brazil
Contact:

Re: About inserting windows

Postby yorik » Fri Jul 11, 2014 5:56 pm

ah yes that's true. only developers can assign. Don't worry, I'll take it for myself.
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1516
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: About inserting windows

Postby rockn » Fri Nov 21, 2014 11:43 am

Hi everyone !

I have just report some bugs in mantis tracker about windows. issue #1835 issue #1834
But there is a last one but not clear.
Just make 4 walls like a rectangular house. (y=5,x=10m)
Select the face of wall that is toward Y direction.
Set it as working plane
Deselect everything,
Try to make a window on the recently selected face, with passive snap mode,
The window is reverse relative to Z (like issue #1604)

Can you reproduce ?

Finnaly a feature request/open discussion about that :
I found task panel more friendly that the swith to sketch WB.
I found that placing windows with plane reference is usefull.
But I found that we can not have snap to point and plane together.

So I think that : active the task panel by default, with or without selected face.
In task mode, if a face is selected,
The preseted window is forced to the plane of the face.
So we can use just snap-point to set placement
Could work perfectly with sill height (sill height forced the Z position, plane is forced by face selected). We could add window in top view mode. Well it still the face selection, but for a long wall, that could be usefull with continue mode ;)
The task panel get a button to enter sketch edit mode.
If no face, a window is create without support (mapped later).
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad