Can't make a wall!

Post here for help on using FreeCAD's graphical user interface (GUI).
Forum rules
and Helpful information
IMPORTANT: Please click here and read this first, before asking for help

Also, be nice to others! Read the FreeCAD code of conduct!
rothloup
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:18 am

Can't make a wall!

Postby rothloup » Thu Oct 30, 2014 5:45 pm

So I'm just getting started with FreeCAD.

I tried to do what I thought would be an exceedingly simple operation. I tried to make a curved wall following these steps:
  • Create a Sketch
  • Draw a Circle
  • Close Sketch
  • Select Sketch and Press "Wall" button
The result is that a wall object is created with a "!" symbol indicating an error, and the sketch disappears from view (but is still visible in the model tree under the wall object). When I click on the wall object to see what the error is, it says "Wa'': 'NoneType" object has no attribute 'isClosed'."

Is FreeCAD not able to make circular walls? It seems to work if I use a polygon.

Thanks.

OS: Windows 7
Word size: 32-bit
Version: 0.14.3700 (Git)
Branch: releases/FreeCAD-0-14
Hash: 32f5aae0a64333ec8d5d160dbc46e690510c8fe1
Python version: 2.6.2
Qt version: 4.5.2
Coin version: 3.1.0
SoQt version: 1.4.1
OCC version: 6.5.1
User avatar
rockn
Posts: 1672
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2011 10:39 am
Location: Toulouse, France
Contact:

Re: Can't make a wall!

Postby rockn » Thu Oct 30, 2014 6:40 pm

rothloup wrote:Is FreeCAD not able to make circular walls?
Nope ! Not is this way, but you can do it by creating a solid then upgrade this solid to a wall.
In the example attached, I created a sketch, then I pad it (with PartDesign workbench). Then I selected the pad and clic on wall tool of Arch Workbench.
CircularWall.fcstd
(21.06 KiB) Downloaded 77 times
Formations et tutoriels FreeCAD en Français, soutenez moi : https://www.tipeee.com/formations-freecad
rothloup
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2014 12:18 am

Re: Can't make a wall!

Postby rothloup » Sat Nov 01, 2014 12:22 am

Thanks!
User avatar
yorik
Site Admin
Posts: 12064
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2009 9:16 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Re: Can't make a wall!

Postby yorik » Sat Nov 01, 2014 3:55 pm

Indeed surprisingly, there is no way to create a wall from a circle... Funny that nobody tried earlier. The problem as far as I can see is that the DraftGeomUtils module cannot calculate an offset for the circle, which is needed to create the wall base. I'll see if I can fix that when I have a bit of free time again :roll:
paullee
Posts: 2761
Joined: Wed May 04, 2016 3:58 pm

Re: Can't make a wall!

Postby paullee » Fri Mar 22, 2019 3:41 pm

A reporter made reference to this old thread :)

https://www.freecadweb.org/tracker/view.php?id=3859


I try in a Sketch make 2 separate arcs forming a complete circle, then ArchWall works :)

Maybe someone can implement to support a simple circle :D